Book details

192 Pages
Publication date: October 2024
Imprint: ecoWing
Helge Timmerberg

On the Hunt

From London to Nice: A Viennese Detective on the Hunt for Criminals

A born cop

The hunt for murderers, fraudsters, pimps and thieves is his life—and his passion. The bestselling author Helge Timmerberg met Tommy, a Viennese target investigator, by chance and was fascinated by his stories. That’s how this book came about.

Tommy was never the man for the rough stuff, but even as a child he always wanted to be the seeker when playing hide-and-seek. At 18 he became a policeman, at 23 he joined the Vienna Criminal Investigation Department. His luck as a seeker never ran out—as a target investigator for the Austrian Federal Criminal Police within the country in the 80s and 90s, and from the 2000s worldwide. London, Nice, Genoa, no matter where the criminals felt safe—at some point Tommy stood in front of them.

This is not a novel. This is real life. This book tells 16 stories from the world of crime, written by the master of reportage, Helge Timmerberg.

»Is there a God? No. But thank God for the police.«

Author

Helge Timmerberg

Helge Timmerberg, born in 1952 in Germany, hitchhiked to India at the age of 17 and decided to become a journalist. He writes travel reports from all over the world for Süddeutsche Zeitung, Die Zeit, Stern, Spiegel and others. He has recently published numerous successful books.

Einer kriegt sie alle

Erscheinungstermin: 15.10.2024

Der geborene Bulle

Die Jagd nach Mördern, Betrügern, Zuhältern, Dieben ist sein Leben – und seine Leidenschaft. Der Bestsellerautor Helge Timmerberg traf den Wiener Zielfahnder Tommy durch Zufall und war fasziniert von seinen Geschichten. So entstand dieses Buch.

Tommy war nie der Mann fürs Grobe, aber er wollte schon als Kind beim Versteckspiel immer der Suchende sein. Mit 18 wurde er Polizist, mit 23 ging er zur Kripo Wien und das Glück als Suchender verließ ihn nie. In den 80er und 90er Jahren zwischen Prater und Donaukanal, und ab den 2000er Jahren weltweit, als Zielfahnder des österreichischen BKA. London, Nizza, Genua, egal, wo sie sich in Sicherheit wiegten – irgendwann stand Tommy vor ihnen. Das ist kein Roman. Das ist wahres Leben. Dieses Buch erzählt 16 Geschichten aus der Welt des Verbrechens, aufgeschrieben vom Meister der Reportage, Helge Timmerberg.

»Gibt es einen Gott? Nein. Aber Gott sei Dank gibt es die Polizei.«

Buchdetails

ISBN-13 9783711003577
192 Seiten / 145 mm x 210 mm
ecoWing
Österreich: 24.00 EUR
Deutschland: 24.00 EUR
Schweiz: 33.50 CHF *
* unverbindlich empfohlener VK-Preis

E-Book Details

ISBN-13 9783711053725
Österreich: 18.99 EUR
Deutschland: 18.99 EUR

Autor

Helge Timmerberg

Helge Timmerberg, geb. 1952, ist Publizist. Mit 17 Jahren trampte er nach Indien und beschloss, Journalist zu werden. Für die »Süddeutsche Zeitung«, »Die Zeit«, »Stern«, »Spiegel« u.a. schreibt er Reisereportagen aus aller Welt. Zuletzt veröffentlichte er zahlreiche erfolgreiche Bücher. Timmerberg lebt in Wien, Berlin und St. Gallen.